Freebase + Ruby

Jan is working on a Ruby connector for Freebase.

His initial results look really promising:

metallica = Freebase.find(:first, :name => 'Metallica', :type => '/music/artist')
metallica.album.first(5)
=> ["Kill 'Em All", "Ride the Lightning", "Garage Days Re-Revisited", "...and Justice for All", "Harvester of Sorrow"]
metallica.genre
=> ["Metal"]

Way to go Jan! This is definitely a glimpse of the future, high-level programming with the world’s knowledge at your finger tips.

2 Responses to Freebase + Ruby

  1. […] August 25th, 2007 structured data and search After posting, I was looking around and Will Moffat’s blog pointed me to Jan De Poorter who in May talked about implementing Freebase in Ruby as a […]

  2. Oren says:

    I want it! I want it!

    Jan, I would love to have a copy of your Ruby class for freebase, and I promise to send any changes/enhancements I make back to you.

    If you are willing to share the Ruby class, please let me know at orenshani@nana.co.il

    Many thanks in advance,

    Oren Shani

Leave a Reply

